Home > news > Press Releases

Press Releases

House Democratic Leader Nancy Pelosi Names Congressman McGovern as Farm Bill Democratic Conferee

f t # e
Washington, July 18, 2018 | comments
WASHINGTON - Today, U.S. Congressman James P. McGovern, Ranking Member of the House Rules Committee and Ranking Member of the House Agriculture Committee’s Nutrition Subcommittee, was named by Democratic Leader Nancy Pelosi to serve on a conference committee to complete a five-year long reauthorization of the Farm Bill.

“With America’s farmers, producers and ranchers facing plummeting prices, rising retaliatory tariffs and a struggling farm economy, we need a real robust, bipartisan Farm Bill more than ever,” Leader Pelosi said.

“While House Republicans chose to advance a destructive and partisan bill that fails farmers and hungry families, this conference will provide an opportunity to return to the grand bipartisan tradition of robust Farm Bills. Our diverse and dynamic House Democratic Conferees will bring the strength of their values and wide-ranging expertise to the work of hammering out a bipartisan Farm Bill that honors our responsibility to the men and women of agriculture and hungry families.”

Earlier this year, House Republicans passed, without a single Democratic vote, a partisan Farm Bill that included extreme cuts to the Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program (SNAP). In doing so, they turned their back on a long history of bipartisanship as well as the economic security of millions of Americans.

“Farm bills are supposed to be an investment in our farms, our farmers, and the programs that help to feed hungry American families. Farm bills shouldn’t be about beating up on poor people, but the House Farm Bill significantly reduces and cuts benefits for millions of the most vulnerable in our country,” said Congressman Jim McGovern (D-MA).

“The House’s bill was drafted in secret and is not reflective of the 23 hearings that our Committee held on SNAP over the past two and a half years. The only bipartisanship throughout the whole process was the bipartisan opposition to this awful bill.

“In the Senate, the process couldn’t have been more different. Democratic ideas were heard and incorporated into the final text. SNAP benefit levels were maintained, and vulnerable families would continue to have access to modest food benefits when times are tough.

“As we work to reconcile the differences between these dramatically different pieces of legislation, I will fight for a bill that -- instead of hurting our most vulnerable citizens -- works to end hunger now, helps our family farms, and supports rural communities. I’m honored to serve on this conference committee, and look forward to working with my colleagues on both sides of the aisle to advance a bipartisan Farm Bill.”

The following Democratic Members will serve on the Farm Bill conference with McGovern:

House Committee on Agriculture:
Ranking Member Collin Peterson of Minnesota
Congressman David Scott of Georgia
Congressman Jim Costa of California
Congressman Tim Walz of Minnesota
Congresswoman Marcia Fudge of Ohio
Congressman Filemon Vela of Texas
Congresswoman Michelle Lujan Grisham of New Mexico
Congresswoman Ann Kuster of New Hampshire
Congressman Tom O’Halleran of Arizona

Education and Workforce:

Congresswoman Alma Adams of North Carolina

Energy and Commerce:
Congressman Paul Tonko of New York

Financial Services:
Ranking Member Maxine Waters of California

Foreign Affairs:
Ranking Member Eliot Engel of New York

Natural Resources:
Ranking Member Raúl Grijalva of Arizona

Oversight and Government Reform:
Congresswoman Stacey Plaskett of the Virgin Islands

Science, Space and Technology:
Ranking Member Eddie Bernice Johnson of Texas

Transportation and Infrastructure:
Congresswoman Cheri Bustos of Illinois

f t # e

Office Locations

Washington, DC Office
370 Cannon House Office Building
Washington, DC 20515

phone: 202-225-6101
fax: 202-225-5759
Leominster Office
24 Church Street, Room 27
Leominster, MA 01453

phone: 978-466-3552
fax: 978-466-3973
Northampton Office
94 Pleasant Street
Northampton, MA 01060

phone: 413-341-8700
fax: 413-584-1216
Worcester Office
12 East Worcester Street, Suite 1
Worcester, MA 01604

phone: 508-831-7356
fax: 508-754-0982