McGovern Joins Nearly 90 House Lawmakers in Joint Statement on Verizon Labor Negotiations

Congressman Jim McGovern (D-MA) joined 86 Members of Congress today in issuing the following joint statement regarding the Verizon strike and ongoing labor negotiations. Congressman McGovern has been a vocal supporter of the Verizon workers striking for fair pay and fair working conditions, marching with them in Shrewsbury and Leominster in the last month.

“We applaud Verizon’s success and its ability to be profitable throughout the changes that have taken place in the telecommunications industry, but are deeply concerned about the ongoing Verizon strike,” Congressman McGovern and the lawmakers wrote.

“Verizon workers build, install and maintain the state-of-the-art FiOS broadband system, and ensure that the millions of customers still reliant on the copper network continue to receive high quality service. In addition, Verizon Wireless retail store workers and technicians work in one of the most profitable sectors of the economy. We are troubled that the lack of a negotiated labor agreement could increase the likelihood that good jobs will be offshored to the Philippines, Mexico and other locations overseas or outsourced to low-wage, non-union domestic contractors. And we are concerned that Verizon wireless retail workers, who joined the union back in 2014, still have not been able to negotiate improvements in their wages, benefits and working conditions.”

“It has been reported that Verizon’s highly skilled union workforce has declined by nearly 40 percent over the last decade. We are concerned that proposed changes in the new contract could continue that downward spiral. While we are heartened by Verizon’s announced intention to offer FiOS broadband service in additional cities, such as Boston, many communities across the country are still waiting. We hope that Verizon will be committed to hiring and retaining the skilled staff necessary to complete the buildout of its FiOS broadband service in a timely manner in all markets.”

“We urge the parties to negotiate in good faith and agree to a fair contract. We firmly believe it is in the public interest to protect middle class jobs, reduce outsourcing and offshoring, and ensure high quality telecommunications services to the public.”

The 88 Members who are signed onto this statement are:

Rep. Jim McGovern

Rep. Robert C. “Bobby” Scott

Rep. Jerrold Nadler

Rep. Alma S. Adams

Rep. Joyce Beatty

Rep. Donald S. Beyer, Jr.

Rep. Brendan F. Boyle

Rep. Robert A. Brady

Rep. Julia Brownley

Rep. Michael E. Capuano

Rep. Matt Cartwright

Rep. Judy Chu

Rep. David N. Cicilline

Rep. Katherine M. Clark

Rep. Yvette D. Clarke

Rep. Gerald E. Connolly

Rep. John Conyers, Jr.

Rep. Joe Courtney

Rep. Joseph Crowley

Rep. Elijah E. Cummings

Rep. Susan A. Davis

Rep. Rosa L. DeLauro

Rep. Suzan DelBene

Rep. Mark DeSaulnier

Rep. Debbie Dingell

Rep. Michael F. Doyle

Rep. Donna F. Edwards

Rep. Keith Ellison

Rep. Eliot L. Engel

Rep. Elizabeth Esty

Rep. Marcia L. Fudge

Rep. Ruben Gallego

Rep. Alan Grayson

Rep. Gene Green

Rep. Raúl M. Grijalva

Rep. Brian Higgins

Rep. Michael M. Honda

Rep. Jared Huffman

Rep. Steve Israel

Rep. Hakeem S. Jeffries

Rep. Marcy Kaptur

Rep. William R. Keating

Rep. Joseph P. Kennedy, III

Rep. Dan Kildee

Rep. Anne McLane Kuster

Rep. James R. Langevin

Rep. John B. Larson

Rep. Barbara Lee

Rep. Sander M. Levin

Rep. Alan S. Lowenthal

Rep. Nita M. Lowey

Rep. Stephen F. Lynch

Rep. Sean Patrick Maloney

Rep. Carolyn Maloney

Rep. Betty McCollum

Rep. Jim McDermott

Rep. Grace Meng

Rep. Seth Moulton

Rep. Grace F. Napolitano

Rep. Richard E. Neal

Rep. Richard M. Nolan

Rep. Donald Norcross

Rep. Frank Pallone, Jr.

Rep. Bill Pascrell, Jr.

Rep. Donald M. Payne, Jr.

Rep. Chellie Pingree

Rep. Mark Pocan

Rep. Charles B. Rangel

Rep. Lucille Royball-Allard

Rep. Tim Ryan

Rep. Gregorio Kilili Camacho Sablan

Rep. Linda T. Sánchez

Rep. John P. Sarbanes

Rep. Janice D. Schakowsky

Rep. Adam B. Schiff

Rep. José E. Serrano

Rep. Albio Sires

Rep. Louise McIntosh Slaughter

Rep. Mark Takano

Rep. Dina Titus

Rep. Paul Tonko

Rep. Niki Tsongas

Rep. Chris Van Hollen

Rep. Filemon Vela

Rep. Nydia M. Velázquez

Rep. Debbie Wasserman Schultz

Rep. Bonnie Watson Coleman

Rep. Frederica S. Wilson